• Poor Law Union Records - 2. The Midlands and Northern England


Poor Law Union Records - Volume 2

The Midlands and Northern England (Third Edition)

Jeremy Gibson and Colin Rogers

A5, 69 pages; ISBN: 978-1-906280-10-9

This comprehensive listing comes in four volumes: Parts 1-3 list the records of the Unions created under the New Poor Law of 1834, until their abolition in 1930. Records of earlier combinations of places to relieve the poor under Acts of Parliament are also included, but not the old poor law records of individual parishes. Locally held records are mostly in county record offices, and smaller borough archive collections, and there is also a great deal of material for all unions in The National Archives. Detailed references are provided in these listings, and county sketch maps show union boundaries.

Covering Cheshire, Cumberland, Derbyshire, Durham, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, Rutland, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Westmorland, Worcestershire, Yorkshire (East, North, West Ridings).

For this new edition (the first since 1997) record offices have been freshly circulated. Archivists have gone to great trouble to ensure that entries reflect the fresh cataloguing of the past decade. Numerous changes of repository are also updated. New finding aids and publications are shown

Write a review

Please login or register to review

Poor Law Union Records - 2. The Midlands and Northern England

  • £4.50